
CBD Capsules: Who Are They Better For Than Oil and How to Dose Them
CBD capsules vs oil under the tongue: what has really been measured in humans, why a fatty meal changes everything, and what daily dose is considered safe by authorities.
CBD stores repeat one number: oil under the tongue is absorbed at about 30 percent, while a capsule at a few. It sounds precise and determines the choice of form. The problem is that no one has measured this in humans. A systematic review of CBD pharmacokinetics found exactly one measurement of absolute bioavailability: 31 percent after smoking. There is no such measurement for oral and sublingual routes. However, there is a study that compared capsules with drops at a dose close to consumer use, and its result overturns this entire narrative. Below you will find what is really known: how capsules differ from oil, what a fatty meal changes, and why the question of dosage still has no good answer.
KEY INFORMATION
• Capsules and drops under the tongue produced the same CBD concentration profile in the blood (Johnson et al., Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research, 2024).
• The only measured bioavailability of CBD in humans is 31 percent after smoking (Millar et al., 2018).
• A fatty meal increases CBD exposure from 3.8 to 9.7 times.
• No effective consumer dose has been established so far.
Do CBD capsules absorb worse than oil under the tongue?
There is no indication of that. In a randomized crossover study, the same hemp oil given in a gelatin capsule and in drops under the tongue produced practically identical CBD concentrations in the blood (Johnson et al., Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research, 2024). The authors explain this plainly: the drops are swallowed before the mucous membrane can absorb anything.
Eight healthy men took hemp oil with a concentration of 69 mg per milliliter in three variants, with blinding: a capsule with the substance and placebo drops, drops with the substance and placebo capsule, or two placebos. Blood was drawn every hour for six hours and after a day. The peak concentration was 28.0 versus 24.0 nanograms per milliliter, time to peak 4 hours in both variants, and area under the curve 45.3 versus 41.8. None of these differences were significant, with p at least 0.25. There were also no differences in blood pressure, heart rate, glucose, liver parameters, or sensations reported by participants.
This result does not stand alone. A meta-regression involving 112 research arms from 39 studies in healthy adults showed that oral administration was associated with higher peak concentration and higher area under the curve than administration via the oral mucosa (Moazen-Zadeh et al., 2024). The authors rated the quality of 112 arms as good in 26 cases and sufficient in 70, and studies on patients were excluded from the analysis. The direction of the relationship is therefore opposite to what the marketing of drops promises. The practical conclusion: do not look for a difference between forms in the absorption route, but in the accuracy of the dose, taste, and price per milligram.
How much CBD from a capsule actually reaches the blood?
No one has calculated that. A systematic review Millar et al. (Frontiers in Pharmacology, 2018) reviewed 792 publications and selected 24 with pharmacokinetic data in humans. Absolute bioavailability was measured there once, for smoking, and it was 31 percent. No one has done this for the oral or sublingual route.
The reason is technical. To provide absolute bioavailability, you need to compare concentrations after oral administration with intravenous administration in the same individuals. Intravenous CBD preparations exist, yet such a comparison has not been published. The authors of the review speak directly about a lack of data and discrepancies between studies, given the widespread use of this compound by people.
So what is known? The time to peak concentration ranges from 0 to 4 hours. The area under the curve and peak concentration increase with the dose, although more slowly than proportionally. The peak concentration rises after a meal and in preparations with a fat carrier. These are real, repeatable observations, but none of them is a percentage of absorption.
Additionally, there is the composition of the studied groups. In Moazen-Zadeh’s meta-regression, 66 of the 112 arms included only men or had a clear male majority, and sex turned out to be related to the time to peak and its height. In other words, a significant part of what we know about CBD pharmacokinetics has been measured on men and transferred to everyone.
We checked the references that the industry uses to support the comparison of “6 percent orally, 13 to 19 percent sublingually.” The range of 13 to 19 percent is not made up: it appears in the introduction of Millar’s review, with a reference to an earlier work by Mechoulam et al. from 2002 and with the caveat that it comes from studies involving animal models. Two other things are twisted. Millar refers this range to oral administration, while product descriptions attribute it to sublingual, and it is not a measurement made in this review, but background quoted from someone else. The string “6%” does not appear in the text of this work at all.
Why should CBD capsules be taken with a fatty meal?
Because fat increases CBD exposure several times, and this is the best-documented effect in the entire pharmacokinetics of this compound. Three independent studies, on different preparations and doses, yielded the same direction: the area under the concentration curve increased from four to almost ten times. A fourth study, described below, showed that the size of this effect depends on the composition of the meal.
| Study | Preparation and dose | Increase in peak concentration | Increase in area under the curve |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taylor et al., 2018 | oral solution 1500 mg, 12 healthy individuals | 4.85 times | 4.2 times |
| Birnbaum et al., 2019 | CBD capsules with 99% purity, 8 patients with drug-resistant epilepsy | 14 times | 4 times |
| Saals et al., 2025 | hemp extract 70 mg, 11 healthy individuals | 17.4 times | 9.7 times |
The study Saals et al. (Scientific Reports, 2025) is closest to retail realities, as the dose of 70 mg corresponds to what people actually take. The researchers observed a double peak concentration after a meal, which they explain by lymphatic transport and enterohepatic circulation. In patients taking capsules with pure CBD, a meal worth 840 to 860 kilocalories raised the peak concentration fourteenfold (Birnbaum et al., Epilepsia, 2019).
It does not have to be lunch, and that has been measured. In a study that gradually increased the meal itself, exposure increased 3.8 times after a high-fat meal, 2.7 times after a low-fat meal, and 2.4 times after whole milk alone (Crockett et al., Epilepsia, 2020). So a meal with a real portion of fat is enough: eggs, nuts, oil, avocado. Remember also the other side of this relationship: the same capsule taken once on an empty stomach and once after a meal represents practically two different doses. This is where a significant part of the story about CBD, which “works sometimes and not other times,” lies. When exactly to take the dose in relation to the meal is discussed in the entry CBD oil before or after eating.
When do capsules perform better than oil, and when the other way around?
The capsule wins where a repeatable dose and lack of taste matter. The oil wins where you want to change the dose in small steps. Since the absorption route turns out to be similar, the choice comes down to simple and verifiable things: how accurate the dose is, how it tastes, and how the packaging looks.
| Criterion | Capsule | Oil |
|---|---|---|
| Repeatability of dose | content stated per piece, the same every time | depends on the size of the drop and on viscosity and temperature |
| Dose change | stepwise, by a whole capsule | liquid, drop by drop |
| Taste | none | distinct, herbal |
| Intake ritual | swallow and done | holding under the tongue does not change the absorption profile |
| Carry-on baggage | solid body, liquid limit does not apply | bottle counts towards the 100 ml container limit |
| Meal impact | large, take with fat | large, take with fat |
Practically, it looks like this. If CBD is to be a regular part of your morning routine alongside other supplements, the capsule fits in effortlessly and without measuring. If you are just looking for your dose or want to change it depending on the day, the dropper provides a resolution that the capsule cannot reproduce. When choosing the strength of the oil, the entry What concentration of CBD to choose will help.
Compare the prices of both forms in one currency: price per milligram. Divide the price of the package by the declared number of milligrams of CBD in it, and only then compare products. The number of capsules in a jar or the volume of a bottle alone says nothing, as very different contents can hide behind the same amount of money. With capsules, there is one limitation that is easy to forget in the store: you cannot go below a dose of one piece, so if the manufacturer only offers large doses, fine-tuning is out of the question.
What is a safe dose of CBD capsules?
No effective consumer dose has been established, so you will not find any “starting protocol” here. The only numbers from authorities concern safety, not efficacy. The British Food Standards Agency advises healthy adults not to exceed 10 mg of CBD per day from food.
This threshold has been in effect since October 2023 and replaced the position from February 2020, which stated 70 mg per day. The basis is the acceptable daily intake of 0.15 mg per kilogram of body weight, derived by advisory committees ACNFP and COT for CBD with at least 98 percent purity, with concerns regarding the liver and thyroid (Food Standards Agency, 2023). The agency advises against CBD for individuals under 18, pregnant and breastfeeding women, those trying to conceive, and anyone taking any medications unless recommended by a doctor.
The European equivalent has gone further. The EFSA panel stated in 2022 that the safety of CBD as a novel food cannot be established and listed data gaps: liver, interactions with drugs metabolized the same way, hormonal and nervous system, and reproductive toxicity in animals (EFSA, 2022).
This position already has a successor. In an update from 2026, the EFSA panel derived a temporary safe dose of 0.0275 mg per kilogram of body weight per day using the benchmark dose method, which is about 2 mg for a person weighing 70 kg (EFSA, 2026). This value applies only to supplements with at least 98 percent purity of CBD, without nanoparticles. The gaps from 2022 remain open, and the panel reiterates that safety cannot be established for individuals under 25, pregnant and breastfeeding women, and those taking medications. Both regulatory thresholds, 10 mg and about 2 mg, are ceilings, not recommendations.
Keep these numbers away from reports from clinical trials. There, doses can be two orders of magnitude higher: in Taylor’s phase I study, volunteers took 750 or 1500 mg twice a day, and in the arm with increasing doses even 6000 mg at once, under supervision. This is not a reference point for a supplement. If you are taking medications regularly, ask your doctor or pharmacist. You can read more about measuring doses in the entry Dosing CBD, how many drops to take.
Does combining capsules with oil make sense?
Less often than one might think. The popular justification speaks of combining two routes of administration: a capsule in the morning for a stable background, drops during the day for a quick effect. Pharmacokinetic measurements do not confirm this, as drops under the tongue behave like a swallowed form.
In Johnson’s study, the time to peak concentration was 4 hours in both variants. Therefore, drops do not provide the “immediate effect” that this strategy expects. By combining forms, you are not comparing two absorption profiles, but summing the dose from two packages, often without calculating the total.
The very “stable background” comes from somewhere else. CBD accumulates with regular intake: in Taylor’s study, steady state was established after about two days, and the terminal half-life reached 60 hours. A balanced level is therefore the result of regularity, not the combination of two packages.
One reason remains sensible. If the capsule has a dose larger than you want to take, and a smaller one is not available for sale, the dropper allows you to adjust the rest. However, in that case, it is simpler to stick with just the oil. In any variant, calculate the daily total in milligrams and relate it to the 10 mg threshold mentioned by the Food Standards Agency.
What to look for on the CBD capsule label?
One number: the amount of CBD in milligrams per capsule. Without it, you cannot calculate the daily dose or compare prices between products. The percentage stated without the weight of the capsule’s filling means nothing, and this is the form that most often appears on packaging.
- Certificate of analysis from an independent laboratory, with the date of testing, batch number matching the packaging, and a scope covering pesticides, heavy metals, and microbiology.
- Fat carrier, such as MCT oil or olive oil. This is consistent with what is known about the impact of fat on exposure.
- Type of extract: full spectrum, broad spectrum, or isolate. The entourage effect was described as a hypothesis by Russo (British Journal of Pharmacology, 2011), but evidence from human studies is still scarce.
- THC content, if you are subject to workplace testing. Isolate reduces the risk, although the declaration on the box does not replace the result of batch testing.
How to read the certificate itself is broken down in detail in the entry How to read a CBD certificate. We also checked the offer of the store u Bucha: hemp capsules are available there as Green Out Green Caps and Green Caps with terpenes, with twenty servings per package. The manufacturer declares 1000 mg of phytonutrients from hemp in one capsule, but does not specify how much of that is CBD. You cannot calculate the daily dose or the price per milligram based on that, and it must be stated clearly.
When checking the certificate, pay attention to two things that manufacturers most often omit. The first is the batch number: a certificate from a year ago pertains to that batch, not the one you have in hand, and the plant material changes between harvests. The second is the scope of testing. Analyzing only the cannabinoid content is cheap and only indicates the potency of the product, while pesticides, heavy metals, and solvent residues require separate markings, which are simply not present in a shortened report.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do CBD capsules work weaker than oil?
There is no evidence for that. In a randomized crossover study, the same hemp oil in a gelatin capsule and in drops under the tongue produced similar CBD concentrations in the blood, with no difference in peak or area under the curve (Johnson et al., Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research, 2024). The choice of form is more a matter of convenience than absorption.
How much CBD is in a typical capsule?
It depends on the manufacturer and must be stated on the packaging in milligrams per piece. The percentage of extract content means nothing until you know the weight of the capsule’s filling. If the label does not provide milligrams, you cannot calculate the daily dose or the price per milligram.
How quickly does a CBD capsule work?
CBD concentration in the blood usually peaks within 0 to 4 hours after swallowing (Millar et al., Frontiers in Pharmacology, 2018). In a comparative study, the peak occurred after 4 hours for both capsules and drops under the tongue. The perceived effect does not have to coincide with the peak concentration.
Should I take a CBD capsule on an empty stomach?
Rather not. A fatty meal increases CBD exposure several times: the area under the curve increased 4.2 times in healthy volunteers (Taylor et al., 2018) and 9.7 times at a dose of 70 mg from hemp extract (Saals et al., 2025). The same capsule taken on an empty stomach and after a meal represents two different effective doses.
How much CBD per day is a safe amount?
The British Food Standards Agency advises healthy adults not to exceed 10 mg of CBD per day from food; the threshold was lowered in October 2023 from the previous 70 mg. EFSA in an update from 2026 provided a temporary safe dose of about 2 mg per day for a person weighing 70 kg. These are precautionary ceilings, not effective doses.
Does the store u Bucha have CBD capsules?
The offer includes Green Out Green Caps hemp capsules and Green Caps with terpenes, available in the Green Out category, with twenty servings per package. The manufacturer declares 1000 mg of phytonutrients from hemp per capsule, but does not specify how much of that is CBD, so you cannot calculate the daily dose based on that.
You can find hemp capsules in the Green Out section, and oils in the hemp oils category.
This article is for informational and educational purposes and does not constitute medical advice. Before starting to use cannabis or CBD for therapeutic purposes, consult a doctor, especially if you are taking other medications, are pregnant, or breastfeeding.
Author: Michał Waluk · Published: 2026-06-08 · Updated: 2026-08-15







