
Inzane in the Membrane (Cannabis flos S-LAB): caryophyllene at the forefront and an undisclosed lineage
Sativa dominant from one producer, with a terpene profile recorded only in one place. We gather what can be verified about this strain and name what cannot be verified.
What is Inzane in the Membrane and where does it come from?
Inzane in the Membrane is dried flower sold in Polish pharmacies under the registered name Cannabis flos S-LAB, described as a hybrid with a sativa dominance. The lineage remains undetermined: the breeder has never announced which pair of plants this strain originated from, and available databases do not provide the parents.
An undetermined lineage is a common occurrence in this context, not a flaw: parents remain out of reach for twenty-five out of eighty-five cultivars reaching Polish pharmacies. The reason may be the breeder's silence or two conflicting versions circulating in seed databases. Listing a probable ancestor in such a place would be worse than leaving the field blank, as a falsely stated parent then travels through subsequent descriptions and eventually starts to appear as a fact.
The name also resolves nothing. It is a play on words and contains no information about the plant's origin. The term Kush in this context includes ten strains, and half of them have no established parents, so even a repeated word says nothing about kinship in either direction.
What remains after removing the lineage? The registration record and one source that provides the terpene composition and assigns a sativa dominance to the strain. That is enough to distinguish this position from neighboring ones on the pharmacy shelf, and decidedly too little to say what it was derived from.
Which manufacturer supplies this strain to Polish pharmacies?
One. The strain is supplied to Polish pharmacies exclusively by S-LAB, and under this name, there is no competing version that could be compared with it. The registration label reads Cannabis flos S-LAB, the declared THC content ranges from 19.8% to 24.2%, and CBD does not exceed 1%.
| Position | Record for this strain | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Producer | S-LAB | the only supplier of this name to Polish pharmacies |
| Registered name | Cannabis flos S-LAB | the numerical part from the label is provided separately, as a range |
| THC content | 19,8-24,2% | the declared value increased and decreased by the allowable deviation |
| CBD content | up to 1% | record from the registration label |
| Genetics | hybrid with a sativa dominance | classification from one description, not from testing |
| Terpene profile | humulene, caryophyllene, ocimene, terpinolene | without shares, the source does not disclose the entirety to which it refers |
The registered name is provided without the numerical part. The number included in this name is the same declared value that manufacturers are allowed to adhere to with a deviation of one-tenth, so when quoted alone, it suggests a precision that the measurement does not have.
One manufacturer also means one supply chain and one decision about whether the product will even be shipped to Poland. The database from which the description of this strain originates currently marks it as unavailable, which reflects the state at the time of data collection, not a characteristic of the strain itself.
The pharmacy assortment shifts from quarter to quarter: permits expire, deliveries are delayed, wholesalers run out of stock, and the name disappears from the list for several months, only to return later. That’s why we keep a list of what can actually be purchased today in one place, in the compilation of available strains. Separately, we gather what, apart from this entry, provides S-LAB.
What does this dried flower smell and taste like?
Citrusy and sour, with an earthy and fruity background. This is how the database describes this dried flower, which is the only one providing any information beyond the label. The orange-lemon note also appears in the marketing material, although the description of the scent is not a measurement and does not directly transfer to subsequent batches.
The terpene profile recorded for this strain includes humulene, caryophyllene, ocimene, and terpinolene, with caryophyllene taking the top spot. We know this from one source: the second database we use for this overview does not describe this strain at all, so there is nothing to compare it to.
We do not provide percentages, and this is not an oversight. In the source record, all the listed terpenes sum up to less than two-thirds of the total for this strain, meaning that over one-third of the volatile mass remains undescribed. For other products, this sum appears quite differently, as each database relates it to something else. A number without a given total looks like a measurement in the text about pharmaceutical raw material, although it is not.
The aroma described in words holds less weight than the composition. The sour citrus note may be referred to as orange, lime, or grapefruit peel, depending on who is smelling and what they are smelling. The dried flower sold over the counter is a completely different raw material, and we categorize it in a separate category, so that these two things are not confused.
How long does it take for this dried flower to take effect and how long does it last?
Depending on the method of administration, not the strain name. For this cultivar, there is no specific measurement: neither the moment the first sensation appears nor the duration of the entire episode has been checked separately, so only common ranges for dried flower can be reliably provided.
The route of administration determines the course more than the variety itself. After vaporization, the substance passes from the lungs to the blood almost immediately, so the first sensations appear after a few minutes, the intensity increases for another ten to thirty minutes, and the whole effect lasts for two to four hours. After ingestion, the raw material first passes through the intestine and liver, so the first sensations are awaited from half an hour to two hours, and the episode can last six, sometimes eight hours. Hence the most common mistake with oral administration: anyone who thinks nothing is happening after thirty minutes and takes another dose will receive both doses at once. The above ranges describe the route of administration, not this variety; pharmacokinetic studies for a single cultivar have not been published.
What has been demonstrated and what has not been demonstrated in studies on this strain?
Nothing that directly pertains to this cultivar. The studies cover individual terpenes, not the mixture contained in this dried flower, and were conducted on animals or in vitro. The rest of the description, including the designation of the strain as stimulating, comes from marketing material, not from scientific work.
Two studies concern caryophyllene, the terpene indicated as the leading one in the profile of this strain. We compare them together with the model on which they were conducted, as the model determines more here than the result itself: what is observed in a mouse lacking the CB2 receptor does not automatically transfer to a human inhaling vapor from the dried flower.
| Work | Model | What was shown |
|---|---|---|
| Gertsch et al., 2008, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), PMID:18574142 | mouse (in vivo) and test tube (receptor binding, human cells) | (E)-caryophyllene selectively bound to the CB2 receptor (Ki = 155 nM) and inhibited carrageenan-induced paw edema in wild-type mice, but not in CB2 receptor-deficient mice (Cnr2-/-), indicating a CB2-dependent mechanism; the study did not include any anxiety tests. |
| Klauke et al., 2014, European Neuropsychopharmacology, PMID:24210682 | rodent (mouse) | Oral caryophyllene reduced the late inflammatory phase of pain in the formalin test in a CB2 receptor-dependent manner, with no effect on the early phase; in a neuropathic pain model, it alleviated thermal hyperalgesia and mechanical allodynia without developing tolerance with chronic administration. |
Neither of the two studies tested caryophyllene on humans or in inhaled form from dried flower; both studies pertain to oral or systemic administration in mice in pain and inflammation models, not sleep or mood.
Aside from these two studies, there remains a descriptive layer of a completely different weight. The label of a stimulating strain intended for daytime use was placed by the supplier in the sales material: without trial, without comparison to placebo, without counting anyone. Such a description does not become a lie because of this. It becomes a statement that no one has subjected to a test capable of confirming or overturning it, and no clinical study for this cultivar has been published.
What side effects have been reported for this strain?
None under this name. The reporting system links the description of the event with the medicinal product and the batch number, so the listings cannot be broken down by strain names. Everything that can be honestly provided here pertains to dried flower as a group, not this one item.
Reports of adverse effects are collected for medicinal products with a batch number, not for the strain name, so the following pertains to hemp dried flower as a group of raw materials. The most frequently reported symptoms are dry mouth, red eyes, and increased heart rate. Dizziness upon rapid standing, daytime drowsiness, and temporary worsening of short-term memory are less frequently described, as well as anxiety that increases with dosage. A separate issue is medications taken concurrently, especially sedatives and those affecting coagulation: their assessment requires knowledge of the entire list of preparations, not just the description of the plant. We do not provide the frequency of these symptoms numerically, as public compilations for hemp dried flower in Poland do not separate them by individual products.
A report regarding this dried flower would therefore go to the registry under the manufacturer's batch number, not under the trade name of the strain, and would blend in there with the total for the entire product.
At what temperature is this strain vaporized?
There is no single correct value, as there is no one temperature for the entire profile. Four terpenes recorded for this strain boil at different temperatures, and some source data were measured under reduced pressure, which cannot be compared to the heater setting in the vaporizer.
| Terpene from the profile | Source record | Measurement conditions |
|---|---|---|
| humulene | 99-100 degrees Celsius | 3 mmHg, which is well below atmospheric pressure |
| caryophyllene | 256-259 degrees Celsius and 130 degrees Celsius | the first value at 760 mmHg, the second at 14 mmHg |
| ocymen | 177 degrees Celsius | pressure not provided |
| terpinolen | 183-185 degrees Celsius | 760 mmHg; a separate record states 187 degrees without conditions |
The record for caryophyllene shows the problem best. The same substance has two assigned values differing by over a hundred degrees because one was measured under atmospheric pressure and the other under a pressure of several millimeters of mercury. Tables circulating online place such numbers side by side without providing conditions, resulting in a temperature ranking that describes nothing. We break this down separately in a text about why terpene temperature tables contradict each other..
Another thing is even easier to overlook: the number set on the vaporizer is not the temperature of the dried flower in the chamber. We write about this difference in a text about the device's setting relative to the actual temperature of the material., and what evaporates from the dried flower at subsequent thresholds, we break down in the text about the evaporation of terpenes.
Which strains are related to it?
It is not possible to point out even one. We derive relationships in this comparison from established parents, and no one has provided those for Inzane in the Membrane, so the network of connections ends with this strain. An empty list of siblings is the answer here, not a lack of data.
The criterion is intentionally narrow. Without a confirmed pair of ancestors, there is no basis to connect this strain with any other, and a similar name or similar scent does not create such a basis. In the kinship graph, one guess does not end with one entry, but rather spreads across the descriptions of all strains that this graph connects.
It doesn't remain empty because of this. The strain can be compared along different axes than origin: through the terpene leading in the profile, described in the text about kariofilenie, or through the remaining components of this profile, namely humulene, ocymen and terpinolen. A common terpene is, however, a similarity in composition, not a relationship, and should be read as such.
Anyone looking to compare this strain with what is currently on the pharmacy shelf will find a complete list in the compilation of available strains. The positions described as daytime are collected in a separate text about strains for the day.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can Inzane in the Membrane be purchased without a prescription?
No. Dried flower in this form is a pharmaceutical raw material issued only by a doctor's prescription, in the Rpw category. No pharmacy will dispense it without a prescription, and materials available outside of pharmacies, even with a similar name, are different raw materials.
What is the THC content in this strain?
The S-LAB label provides one declared value, and the manufacturer is allowed a deviation equal to one-tenth of that number. Taking this into account, the THC content falls within the range of 19.8-24.2%. The CBD content is recorded as not exceeding one percent.
Who bred this strain and what are its parents?
It is unknown. Neither the breeder nor the pair of plants from which the strain originated have been provided in available sources, and seed databases do not maintain a genealogical entry for this name. The pedigree cannot be inferred from the trade name alone.
Which terpene leads in the profile of this strain?
Caryophyllene. This is indicated by the only record that exists for this strain; alongside it, humulene, ocimene, and terpinolene are mentioned. We do not provide percentage shares because the source does not disclose what total they refer to.
Why do you not provide the percentage shares of individual terpenes?
Because it is unclear what these numbers refer to. Records in Polish databases sum up for this strain to just under two-thirds, and for other items, the sums are completely different, so values from different sources are not comparable.
Have clinical studies been published for this strain?
No. The publications referenced in this text concern a single terpene studied in mice and under laboratory conditions, not the dried flower of this name. For the cultivar itself, there is neither a study with a control group nor a published pharmacokinetic measurement.
Dried flower is a pharmaceutical raw material issued by a doctor's prescription in the Rpw category. The material is for informational purposes and does not replace medical consultation nor constitutes encouragement for use.
Editorial text: redakcja ubucha.pl.







