
How to choose a CBD oil? A complete shopping checklist for new customers 2026
How to choose CBD oil: certificate of analysis, extraction method, type of extract, oil base, and price per 100 mg. What studies showed about label compliance with content.
You are buying your first CBD oil and have two bottles in front of you. Both declare 10%, both cost similarly, both sound convincing. How do you know which one contains what it promises? From the label alone, you can't tell, and that's not a metaphor. In the analysis of 202 CBD products from the open market, 74% deviated from the declared potency by at least 10%, and 44 of them contained heavy metals (Gidal et al., Frontiers in Pharmacology, 2024). The label is a declaration from the manufacturer, not a measurement result. Below you will find what to look for instead: a certificate from an external laboratory, a description of the extraction and source of the raw material, and one calculation that brings different bottles to a common scale.
KEY INFORMATION
• Of 84 CBD products purchased online, only 26 were within the compliance range with the label (Bonn-Miller et al., JAMA, 2017).
• In those same 84 samples, THC was detected 18 times.
• The certificate of analysis from an external laboratory is the only proof of composition available before purchase.
• Compare products by the cost of 100 mg of CBD, not by the price of the bottle.
Why is the label of CBD oil not enough?
Because the label declares, while the laboratory measures, and these two numbers often diverge more than intuition suggests. Bonn-Miller and colleagues purchased 84 CBD products online from 31 companies and analyzed their composition. Compliance with the label within 10% was achieved by 26 products.
The rest were distributed in both directions: 36 products contained more CBD than declared on the label, while 22 contained less (Bonn-Miller i in., JAMA, 2017). In 18 out of 84 samples, THC was detected at concentrations reaching 6.43 mg/ml, although none of these products were sold as THC-containing products. Subsequent analyses did not reverse this picture. A study of 80 products from the American market yielded a compliance rate of 54% (Johnson i in., Journal of Cannabis Research, 2022), and a European study of 12 oils purchased from online stores in December 2020 found correct labeling in half of the cases, with measured concentrations ranging from 19.58 to 54.09 mg per milliliter (Vida i in., Frontiers in Pharmacology, 2023).
The conclusion for the buyer is simple and convenient, as it shortens the list of things to check. There is no point in comparing the declarations of two manufacturers when the declaration is what can be untrue. Compare documents that someone else has signed: batch test results.
What to check in the certificate of analysis before purchase?
The certificate of analysis, described in the industry as COA, is a report from an external laboratory for a specific batch of the product. Check five things in it: who conducted the test, when, which batch it concerns, how much CBD was measured, and what else was searched for besides cannabinoids.
The laboratory should be independent of the manufacturer and have an accreditation number, preferably issued by the Polish Center for Accreditation or an equivalent body in the country of origin. The testing date and batch number must match the bottle you hold in your hand, as a report from three years ago describes different plant material and a different process. Besides the CBD content, the certificate should include a heavy metals panel, a pesticide panel, and solvent residue. This is not excessive caution: in the analysis of 202 products, heavy metals were detected 52 times in 44 products, most often lead, and solvent residues 446 times in 181 products. Of 232 tested pesticides, 26 were found a total of 55 times in 30 products (Gidal i in., Frontiers in Pharmacology, 2024).
A certificate available on the product page is worth more than a "on request" certificate, as the former can be verified before payment, while the latter can only be checked afterward. If you want to go through such a document line by line, we have a separate text: how to read a CBD certificate.
Which extraction method yields a cleaner oil?
Supercritical carbon dioxide, because it is the only one that disappears from the product on its own. CO2 under high pressure behaves like a solvent and extracts phytochemicals from the plant, and after the pressure is reduced, it returns to gas form. In the finished oil, there is nothing to remove, so there is nothing to overlook.
Ethanol extraction is cheaper and more efficient, also extracting a broader range of plant components, including chlorophyll, which darkens the color and worsens the taste. The method is acceptable under one condition: the manufacturer must demonstrate in the certificate that alcohol residues have been removed to a level below the standard for class three solvents. Maceration in vegetable oil, a homemade way to extract, yields variable and difficult-to-reproduce content, so it rarely appears in commercial production.
A separate category is hydrocarbon solvents. Hexane, xylene, and methanol were among the substances with the highest measured concentrations in the cited analysis of 202 products. The regulatory threshold was exceeded in 1% of detected solvent residues and 3% of detected heavy metals, but the frequency of detections shows how rarely the process is fully closed. If the manufacturer does not specify what they use for extraction, assume they have nothing to boast about.
Full spectrum, broad spectrum, or isolate: what are the differences?
They differ in how much of the plant remains in the bottle. Full spectrum retains the entire profile of phyto-compounds along with trace amounts of THC. Broad spectrum is the same profile with THC removed. Isolate is purified CBD with a purity of over 99%, without terpenes and other cannabinoids.
| Feature | Full spectrum | Broad spectrum | Isolate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ingredients | The entire profile of the plant | Profil bez THC | Samo CBD, ponad 99% |
| THC | Traces | Removed | none |
| Taste and smell | Plant-based, pronounced | Plant-based, milder | Neutral |
| Ryzyko dodatniego testu | Real presence of THC | Minimal | Minimal |
| State of evidence | Dane obserwacyjne, sporne | No clinical comparisons | Best defined composition |
Full-spectrum marketing is based on the entourage effect, the assumption that the plant's components enhance each other. A meta-analysis of eleven observational studies involving 670 patients with drug-resistant epilepsy, treated for three to twelve months, showed more frequent reports of improvement with CBD-rich extracts than with purified CBD: 71% versus 46%, with an average daily dose of 6.0 versus 25.3 mg per kilogram of body weight (Pamplona i in., Frontiers in Neurology, 2018). After applying a stricter threshold, meaning a reduction in seizure frequency by at least half, the difference disappeared: 37% versus 42%, with a p value of 0.52. Adverse effects were more frequent with purified CBD, both mild (76% versus 33%) and severe (26% versus 7%). The paper contains published corrections to some numbers, so when citing it, refer to the corrected version. A literature review from 2023 summarizes this dispute directly: preclinical and clinical data are contradictory, and a significant portion of the argument comes from user reports (Christensen i in., Biomedicines, 2023). Therefore, treat full spectrum as a preference, not as a proven advantage. Additionally, there is a matter that the label itself does not resolve: in the analysis of 202 products, 26% did not meet the definition of the type declared on the packaging, so the label 'broad spectrum' may be inconsistent with the measured composition (Gidal et al., 2024).
Can full spectrum oil give a positive test result?
It can, but it is the THC present in the product that is responsible, not the CBD itself. This distinction determines the choice of extract type for a professional driver or someone tested at work, as it changes the question from 'how much CBD am I taking' to 'what else is in the bottle.'
In a study involving six healthy adults, in an intra-individual design, 100 mg of pure CBD was administered orally and in vapor form, and separately, also in vapor form, hemp flower containing the same amount of CBD and 3.7 mg of THC. Urine was collected for five days after each administration. After pure CBD, only one of 218 samples exceeded the lowest screening threshold of 20 ng/ml, and none were confirmed by a definitive method. After THC flower, nine samples tested positive at the threshold of 20 ng/ml, two at the threshold of 50 ng/ml used in workplace tests, and four were confirmed (Spindle i in., Journal of Analytical Toxicology, 2020).
An important caveat regarding the scope of this result. The THC preparation was administered solely via inhalation, so the study does not directly indicate what an ingested full-spectrum oil would do. However, it shows where the risk lies: with pure CBD, there was practically none, and it only appeared together with THC.
The practical conclusion is that with background testing, an isolate or broad spectrum with a certificate showing no detectable THC is safer. A declaration of 'zero THC' without laboratory confirmation guarantees nothing, as THC has been detected in products that did not declare it at all. You can find more about the difference between extract types in the text full spectrum vs broad spectrum.
What does the percentage on the bottle really mean?
The percentage indicates the share of CBD in the volume of the oil, or in other words, the number of milligrams in the bottle. A 5% oil in a 10 ml package contains 500 mg of CBD, a 10% oil in the same package contains 1000 mg, and a 20% oil contains twice that amount. This is arithmetic, not a property of the product.
From this, it follows that one easily overlooks when switching bottles: the same number of drops from a stronger oil corresponds to a different number of milligrams. The percentage changes the density of dosing, meaning how small portions can be measured with a pipette, and nothing more. Concentration is also not an indication. The literature has not established a consumer dose of CBD for healthy individuals, and the clinical studies cited by the industry were conducted at therapeutic doses in patients with specific diagnoses, under medical supervision. If the manufacturer attributes health issues to percentages, they go beyond what is known.
We have noticed in conversations with customers that the most common disappointment arises not from choosing the wrong concentration, but from comparing bottles of different capacities. Comparing the price per 100 mg clarifies this in a minute. A full discussion of the percentages themselves can be found in a separate text: what concentration of CBD to choose.
Which oil base works best?
There is no single best one; there are three sensible options, and each comes at a cost. CBD dissolves in fats, so the oil base determines the flavor, shelf life, and how easily a drop can be measured. Choosing between them is a compromise, not a ranking of quality.
MCT oil, or fractionated coconut oil, is the most resistant to oxidation and practically neutral in taste, which makes dosing easier for those sensitive to bitterness. It does not come from hemp, which can be surprising for buyers looking for a fully hemp product. Hemp seed oil provides a consistent label composition and brings its own omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, but due to the same content of unsaturated fatty acids, it oxidizes faster and requires cool storage. Olive oil is sometimes used in smaller manufacturers: it is stable and well-studied in culinary terms, but its density makes precise measurement with a pipette difficult, and its scent dominates over the aroma of the extract.
The composition beyond the base should be short. A natural flavor of mint or lemon is not a problem. Artificial colorings, preservatives, and alcohol as a carrier in sublingual oil have no technological justification.
Why does the origin of the raw material determine purity?
Because hemp absorbs from the soil what is in it, including heavy metals. This feature even has industrial applications: the plant is studied as a tool for cleaning soils contaminated with metals (Placido i Lee, Plants, 2022). In the raw material for oil, this is a disadvantage, not an advantage.
Therefore, a cultivation certificate is not just a label decoration. Look for information about the country and region of cultivation, about the European Union organic certification or equivalent, and about the variety from the EU catalog of agricultural plant varieties. Some producers provide the name of the plantation and the standard of good cultivation practice, which allows tracing the supply chain to a specific field. A producer who does not disclose where they source their plant material leaves themselves a loophole to change suppliers without changing the label.
The legal framework in Poland is clear. Industrial hemp is defined as plants in which the total delta-9-THC and tetrahydrocannabinolic acid in flowering or fruiting tops does not exceed 0.3% when calculated on a dry weight basis, and the total is rounded to one decimal place. The basis is Article 4 point 5 of the Act on Counteracting Drug Addiction, consolidated text Dz.U. 2023 item 1939, as amended by the Act of March 24, 2022 (Dz.U. 2022 poz. 763), effective from May 7, 2022. Previously, the threshold was 0.20%.
For the buyer, this results in two things. The threshold describes the plant, not the finished product, so look for a separate result for THC on the oil certificate. The total of two compounds matters, not just delta-9-THC, so the position "total THC" calculated on the certificate with a factor of 0.877 does not correspond to the total mentioned in the law.
How to recognize a seller to avoid?
Based on the language of promises and what is missing on the site. A European study of the online CBD oil market examined 16 stores: ten of them suggested health benefits indirectly, one attributed the product's use in COVID-19, and a total of thirty alleged indications were collected.
In the same study, three out of twelve purchased products had no information on how to use them (Vida i in., Frontiers in Pharmacology, 2023). A dietary supplement cannot claim medicinal properties or disease prevention, so phrases like "cures" or "eliminates" violate food labeling regulations before they mislead anyone. A reliable description sounds more cautious and refers to publications.
The rest of the signals are more mundane: lack of name and address of the entity responsible for bringing the product to the EU market, lack of a Polish version of the label, lack of contact other than a form, lack of information about the extraction method. From our experience, a store that cannot answer a question about the batch number and testing date usually does not have access to this data, rather than hiding it intentionally. The outcome for the buyer is the same.
How much should CBD oil cost?
As much as indicated by the price per 100 mg of CBD, because only this number compares bottles of different capacities and strengths. Calculate it yourself: price divided by the number of milligrams in the package, times one hundred. A more expensive bottle at the checkout can turn out to be cheaper in comparison.
| Butelka 10 ml | CBD w butelce | How many servings of 100 mg |
|---|---|---|
| 5% | 500 mg | 5 |
| 10% | 1000 mg | 10 |
| 20% | 2000 mg | 20 |
We do not provide prices for individual products because the store's offer changes faster than the article, and the price written in the text begins to age on the day of publication. However, the range gives a point of reference: in the category of hemp oils in the u Bucha store, the cost of 100 mg of CBD was between 9.50 and 13.00 PLN on August 15, 2026, with the lowest value coming from the strongest bottle. This rule is repeated by most manufacturers, as the bottle, pipette, and batch testing cost the same regardless of the content. This does not mean that a stronger oil is a better purchase for everyone: a smaller bottle will be used up before the expiration date after opening.
A very low price is not in itself proof of fraud, but combined with the lack of a batch certificate leaves nothing to rely on. Then you are paying for a declaration, and label compliance studies show how much that declaration is worth.
How to store CBD oil after opening?
In the dark, cool, and tightly closed, because cannabinoids and carrier fats degrade under the influence of light, heat, and oxygen. The bottle should be glass and tinted, preferably amber or green. Clear glass allows radiation that accelerates degradation.
Keep oils based on hemp seed oil in the refrigerator, as unsaturated fatty acids oxidize faster. MCT oil preparations can simply be stored in a cool, dark cupboard away from the stove and windowsill. The shelf life after opening is provided by the manufacturer and usually falls within the range of 6-12 months. Cloudiness after cooling does not mean spoilage: it is a natural crystallization of fats that disappears after warming the bottle in your hand.
Close tightly after each use and do not leave an open bottle on the counter while measuring. A few minutes of contact with air with each serving adds up over months to noticeable loss. The bathroom is the worst place for such a bottle, as temperature and humidity fluctuate several times a day. A kitchen cupboard away from the oven or a shelf in the refrigerator works better, and also reminds you of the product instead of letting it expire in a drawer. You can find details in the text about this, how to store CBD oil.
Frequently Asked Questions
What to check before buying CBD oil?
Certificate of analysis from an external laboratory along with the testing date and batch number, extraction method, type of extract, oil base, and manufacturer data on the label. Without a certificate, you only have the seller's declaration, and in the analysis of 202 CBD products, 74% deviated from the declared potency by at least 10% (Gidal et al., 2024).
What is the difference between full spectrum and broad spectrum oil?
Full spectrum retains the entire profile of the plant's phyto-compounds along with trace THC, broad spectrum has the same profile after THC removal, and isolate is the same CBD above 99% purity. The advantage of full spectrum is based on observational data and remains a subject of dispute (Christensen et al., Biomedicines, 2023).
Which CBD extraction method is the cleanest?
Supercritical carbon dioxide, as it evaporates after pressure reduction and does not remain in the product. Ethanol is acceptable when the certificate confirms the removal of residues. This has a practical dimension: solvent residues were detected in 181 out of 202 tested products (Gidal et al., 2024).
Is a cheaper CBD oil worse?
Price alone does not determine anything, as label compliance studies found deviations in products across the entire price range. Compare the cost of 100 mg of CBD instead of the price of the bottle, and treat the batch certificate as a decisive argument. A very low price without a certificate is a sufficient reason to walk away.
Can CBD oil give a positive THC test result?
Pure CBD at a dose of 100 mg did not exceed the threshold in a urine test for six healthy adults, while inhaled flower containing 3.7 mg of THC alongside CBD gave four confirmed positive results (Spindle et al., Journal of Analytical Toxicology, 2020). The risk comes from the THC present in the product, not from CBD itself.
How long does CBD oil maintain its quality after opening?
Manufacturers usually state 6-12 months after opening, and you will find this term on the packaging. Keep the oil in a dark glass bottle, away from light and heat, tightly closed. Cloudiness after cooling is normal and disappears after warming the bottle to room temperature.
Olejki konopne z certyfikatami partii znajdziesz w dziale oils in the u Bucha store.
This article is for informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Before starting to use hemp or CBD for therapeutic purposes, consult your doctor, especially if you are taking other medications, are pregnant, or breastfeeding.
Author: Michał Waluk · Opublikowano: 2026-06-08 · Aktualizacja: 2026-08-15







